Q&A with The Bird Sisters Author Rebecca Rasmussen

• Print
« Previous |  1 of 5  | Next »

Random House: Bird Sisters is told from the point of view of two elderly sisters looking back on a particular summer from their youth. What inspired you to write the novel in this way?

Rebecca Rasmussen: The novel began for me with lines I happened upon in an Emily Dickinson poem: "These are the days when Birds come back/A very few -- a Bird or two -- /To take a backward look." I fell in love with the idea of taking "a backward look" at the lives of two sisters who still live in their childhood home together and yet did not dream of this as their fate. I am a writer who is deeply interested in how and why people end up where they are, so looking back at a summer when things could have gone one way but went another seemed the most natural storytelling approach for me.

RH: The Bird Sisters is such a lovely, unusual story. How did you come up with the plot, and how long did it take you to write this novel?

RR: The story of The Bird Sisters belongs to my grandmother Kathryn. Until I was twenty-one, I knew very little about her childhood, even though I'd spent a lot of time with her (I even lived with her at one point). I knew her father was an extremely talented golfer and her mother was the most beautiful woman in the world, and that my grandmother thought I looked like her. I knew my grandmother fell asleep midway through television shows -- that she was getting old. It wasn't until after she was diagnosed with breast cancer, went through the treatments, and went into remission that I found out more about her family history.