How I Learned to Accept My Weight and Stop Hating My Body

After years of feeling fat and going on one diet after another, I've decided to try something really radical: making peace with who I am.
  • Print
« Previous |  1 of 2  | Next »

A few weeks ago, my usual first-day-of-the-month-diet-vow ritual was tinged with an unfamiliar feeling. I tried to name it. Dread maybe? Exasperation? Boredom? All of the above, yes. But there was something else, something new: hopelessness.

I am a self-taught expert on weight loss. There is probably no significant fact about the topic with which I am unfamiliar. And yet, being 35 pounds heavier than I'd like to be, I have remained oddly impervious to the lessons of all the nutritional science I've absorbed. I've trend-dieted. I've slow-and-steadied it. I've done portion control and calorie-counting. I've meditated. I've been hypnotized. I've allowed people I don't know to pinch my hips with calipers. I've weighed myself without my glasses for a more precise count. The one thing I've never done is lose weight for any meaningful period of time.

This month, as usual, I went to Amazon and typed in "diet books." And as I waited for titles to load, the hopelessness descended. Again? I thought. Still? I've tried this. I've done that. I'm exhausted.

But not just exhausted -- demoralized. I'm not opposed to hard work. Yet nothing I've done this painstakingly in my whole life has yielded so little payoff.