Made with Love: Three Powerful DIY Crafts

A cool craft with a sweet personal story behind it? Tell me more! We got three creative readers to share their most meaningful DIY projects.
  • Print
« Previous |  1 of 1  | Next »
The Memory Quilt

I'm sentimental and couldn't bear to part with my daughter's baby and toddler clothes. I tucked everything into plastic bags at the top of her closet, thinking that someday I'd make them into a quilt. When Eva was not quite 5, the bags were bursting. I decided it was finally time to tackle that project.

I'd seen quilts made from sports-team shirts or concert tees and the patterns were pretty simple. I'm not an expert seamstress, but I can sew a straight line, so I figured this was doable. Sorting through the clothes reminded me of poring over an old photo album: Here was the tiny onesie Eva wore home from the hospital, there the flowered halter she wore to a picnic when she was 3.

Eva was fascinated by the strips of fabric that I cut, some of which she recognized and some she didn't. Either way, she loved hearing the stories behind every piece. This quilt was about her, so I let her assemble the fabrics into squares, then help me sew them together. "You can turn the machine on," I'd say. "Now move the wheel until you see the needle go up and down four times." I guided each square through the sewing machine as Eva stepped on the pedal.

Piecing the quilt together became part of our bedtime ritual, something Eva and I did while chatting about school and friends and her little brother, Ben. Because we spent only about 15 minutes a day on our quilt, it took a year and a half to finish -- but it's so meaningful because Eva had a hand in creating it. Each of the 96 fabrics on the quilt evokes a memory of my daughter's early years, but they also remind me of the wonderful bond we developed as we sewed together.

Lisa Fields
Cherry Hill, New Jersey

New Life for Broken Dishes